Guppy Care/companions

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Katkatt, Apr 15, 2017.

1. Katkatt

Katkatt New Member Member

I recently just cycled my ten-gallon and took the recommendation for getting five guppies (though they are all female, not male). I just have a few questions.

1. One of my guppies is pregnant, how do I care for her, the fry, and when should I separate her into a hatchery?

2. Do females have different requirements than males? If so, what are they?

3. Is putting their tank within view of my two male betta bad for the betta? I heard putting similar looking fish within view of them is stressful- but they're females so not that similar? I'm concerned but not too worried on this one. (The betta cannot see each other, they're in different tanks and have a solid divider, so don't worry about them :cat: )

And, an optional fourth, does anyone have any good threads on guppy care? I know the basics but I want to be prepared.

Apologies, but I'm very new to this all, haha.

Also, would it be possible for me to add any more fish such as neon tetras? The tank isn't very big, only ten gallons, but I'm curious.

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 15, 2017
  2. fjh

fjh Well Known Member Member

1) if you want to separate her, you can. Just don't put her in one of those plastic breeder boxes - this stresses them and often whey will abort the fry. If you can get the net kind, that is way better.
    If you are moving her to a different tank, do it about 1 week+ before she is going to drop. If you are putting her in a breeder box, do it as late as possible, even once she starts birthing.
    I would just let her give birth in the tank though. Don't separate her at all. The separation will stress her, and guppies eating fry is not as common as people think. If you have a lot of floating plants/decor, this will ensure the fry have a safe place to hide. Also, this way you probably won't have to cull any (that are deformed, etc)

2) No other requirements :)