Guppy Breeders, whats your set up look like?

Mhamilton0911

Well Known
Reaction score
Hello all. I'm new to livebearers, and guppies in general, and already they have stolen my heart.

Big thanks to @Pwilly07 for selling me a trio of lovelies! Moscow Greens, but my lighting casts them blue. My lighting is terrible, but ehhh, I'm workin' on it :)

Anyhow, a question for the guppy breeders out there: What does your set up look like? I have done some research, watched lots of fish room tours, read, read and read some more, asked questions from fellow fishlorians, but would still like to see some more. I already have a basic idea of how I want things to go, or look like, but I'm open for more inspiration! Pictures please!

Attachments

emilyyyyy

Reaction score
Experience
2 years
I don't have much experience with guppy fry, however I do know that floating stem plants provide them with many places to hide. I've seen people use guppy grass and hornwort.

AquEric

Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I breed guppies as dither fish to keep with my angelfish I pull out a couple of pregnant females when I need more put in a 10 or 20 gallon tank and feed the fry crushed flake food the ones born in the big tank's make great snacks easy fish to breed and raise

johnbetta

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I breed endler guppies in 2 foot long tanks I use undergravel filters and a heaters set at 24 all my tanks are undergravel filters even for my big cichlids and bristle nose I have big tanks and small tanks

OP
Mhamilton0911

Mhamilton0911

Well Known
Reaction score
emilyyyyy said:
I don't have much experience with guppy fry, however I do know that floating stem plants provide them with many places to hide. I've seen people use guppy grass and hornwort.
Yes, currently my females hide in a jungle of anacharis to give birth. Then I net the fry out and they get transferred to another tank. Just yesterday one female gifted me with 31 new babies :)