Guppy Babies? Important

1. smaurer3076

smaurer3076 Valued Member Member

Is my guppy about to give birth or should I be worried. She seemed to be showing signs of getting ready to give birth but her abdomen seems really red. This is my first go with guppies so I'm very new at this all. She's in a fry cage right now and I have attached a picture of her. 2124c605c803a428ffe733b0e66db4cf.jpg

2. Donnerjay

Donnerjay Well Known Member Member

Hello,

Is she able to swim freely? From the photo it looks like she's stuck.

3. OP
    OP
    smaurer3076

66aa28fbdcba5e58eb6be9a58592818d.jpg

Yeah, she can swim freely. The slots on the fry divider are big enough for her tail to slip through but she's moved around a little bit in the few hours I've been home.

4. Aster

Aster Well Known Member Member

She doesn't look that large, but younger guppies typically have less fry. I wouldn't use a breeder box though, it could be stressing her out and causing her to hold or abort fry.

5. Donnerjay

Her abdomen does appear red in the first photo. But her fins are extended, and other than that she appears healthy. And she is pregnant.

First thing I would do is check the water parameters: ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate. Giving birth is stressful, and you want the water as pristine as possible for her.

Then, let nature take its course. In my experience, platies often give birth at nighttime. Guppies may be similar although I'm not positive.

Keep an eye on her. If she hasn't started dropping fry by the morning, you may wish to release her as she may not be *quite* ready.

Knowledgeable guppy owners, chime in!

6. Kellye8498

Kellye8498 Well Known Member Member