Guppies Not Surviving The Switch From Breeding Tank To Display

1. ashark8me Member Member

I am really scratching my head on this one since I have 20+ years experience keeping fish, but I thought I would throw it out there.

I built a 125 gallon setup to be a large, planted tank which would house nothing but guppies and maybe a handful of cories (which I do not have yet) . My plan was to breed the guppies in tanks in my basement and populate the main display tank from fish from the colonies down there. I have some nice (read: Expensive ) strains going down there and a system where I move fry from the tank with the adults through a series of grow out tanks until I can ultimately sex them and separate the sexes so I can ultimately only breed the best ones. I am able to move fish around freely between all of those tanks without any difficulty.

Yet EVERY time I attempt to move a fish from the breeding tanks to the main display, they all die. Not right away, they usually settle in fine and hang around a week or two but in no more than 2 weeks, they're gone. I've attempted to move fish of all ages. The first time it happened, I had removed an adult male from my colony. He lasted maybe 10 days - looked fine right up until the day I found him dead. I figured maybe he was old (he was mature when I got him) and the move was too much for him. I tried a very young adult female. She did great until the day I found her dead less than 2 weeks later. I next tried it with some fry. They were 2-3 weeks old. They did great for a week to 10 days but then one day they were all gone. Next I tried even younger fry, because there are some fry being born in the main tank as well and those that escape being eaten by the adults or being sucked into the filter seem to do okay. I figured maybe if they grew up with whatever conditions are causing the problem in the main tank, they would do better. Nope. A little over a week after introducing them, they're all gone.