Guppies eating algae wafers, help!

Faith Wilmore

This is my first time feeding my snail. I already fed my four guppies today. I put half of an algae wafer in there for my mystery snail and the guppies immediately go to eating it! I'm afraid that the snail will never get any food. I would try feeding them at night, but my guppies stay up all night too so I don't know if that would help. I'm in the process of cycling my tank, so I don't yet have an algae in the tank to feed my snail. Help!

Viriam Karo

LOL guppies will eat anything and everything. Why do your guppies stay up all night? Do you have a light on all night?

Your snail is probably okay... and if you break up the algae wafer there are a few different pieces for them to go to instead of everyone going to one. Also your snail might learn to duck and cover his food. Mine usually do, to resist the tickles of corys and the less-friendly picks of my DG.

Faith Wilmore

Viriam Karo said:
LOL guppies will eat anything and everything. Why do your guppies stay up all night? Do you have a light on all night?

Your snail is probably okay... and if you break up the algae wafer there are a few different pieces for them to go to instead of everyone going to one. Also your snail might learn to duck and cover his food. Mine usually do, to resist the tickles of corys and the less-friendly picks of my DG.
No, the light gets turned off at 6pm. We keep a hall light on and a miniscule amount of light comes in our room at night. It's enough that if I look closely, I can see them swimming around. I'm an insomnia, so I'm always looking at the tank.

Update on the snail: He is now fighting with the guppies for that one piece. That's a good idea to put in another small piece to distract the guppies. I will try that. Thanks!

Viriam Karo