Growing Out The Juvenile Discus

Discussion in 'Discus Fish' started by Disc61, Apr 20, 2017.

1. Disc61 Well Known Member Member

Discus Juvenile Grow Out

Care Sheet

Introduction

Hi All, I often see threads with questions on raising juvenile Discus. From how many water changes to how fast do they grow, etc... and although I do not mind at all answering these threads I have had several members ask me to put up a care sheet on juvies.

In no way do I claim to know everything about Discus and in fact I continue to research thoughts and ideas all the time. I have been raising them for roughly 12 years now.

This is my attempt at helping guide someone through the steps of raising Discus from juvenile stage to Adulthood. [Disc61]

The Juvenile Discus

Before talking about anything else I think it is important to speak on the subject itself. The Juvenile Discus. I would consider juveniles to be 2 inches to 4 inches in size. With that said, it is important to understand you could find a 3.5 inch Adult or sub adult. I would encourage anyone to walk away from this option. What I mean by this is the fish is probably stunted and may never grow bigger than it is.

Discus, even stunted ones, are beautiful and this can trick some folks into buying a less than desirable specimen.

So, what can you do to prepare yourself. First and foremost, do your own research and understand the look of a healthy juvenile Discus. Its eyes should be proportionate to its body. If the eye seems rather big when you first look at it, walk away, this Discus is probably stunted. If the stomach area seems sunken, walk away this discus is stunted. If its forehead seems pinched above its eye, walk away this Discus is stunted. Roundness of the body should be apparent. A football shape is not what your looking for. There are many pictures of healthy juveniles and many pictures of stunted juveniles, do yourself a favor and understand this before beginning to shop for your babies.

The Proper place