green star polyps

pokadotpleco

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
hey guys i am new to reefing and need some advice. ive been keeping a saltwater tank with fish and live for just over 100 days and havent lost a fish yet. i want to expand and move on to corals. my light is bright enough for most soft corals so i bought a green star polyp frag to test out. however the frag never opened when put in my tank :'( i was wondering what i could of did wrong. i dose trace elements, calcium, strontium, etc and all my parameters are perfect. also my water is crystal clear. PLEASE HELP!!!
thanks!

Mike

Fishlore
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
What are your alk, calc and salinity levels? How long have they been in your tank?

Green star polyps are pretty hardy and fast growing in my experience. I have some in my tank at the very bottom (running T5's). It could be they just need some more time to get used to your setup.

pokadotpleco

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
What are your alk, calc and salinity levels? How long have they been in your tank?

Green star polyps are pretty hardy and fast growing in my experience. I have some in my tank at the very bottom (running T5's). It could be they just need some more time to get used to your setup.
my salinity was high. i think that was the issue. i corrected the salt levels and maybe now the little guy will open, if he isnt already dead. and he has been in for a couple of days.

kloseo

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
well it is suggested to wait at least 6 months before adding coral as the water parameters still may vary enough to cause problems with hardy coral. also it takes a while for coral to acclimate to a new tank...so there is a chance your gsp will still make it.. be ware they spread like crazy

rocky12

Reaction score
Experience
2 years