Gravel vac help

ferrariluca07

hello everyone!

I just need some answers on how often I should be vacuuming my gravel. I am still cycling my tank, I just have one fish in my tank. when I get more fish do I have to vacuum more often because more waste is produced? do I have to worry about losing beneficial bacteria because I know some lives in the gravel? should I be moving my tank decorations?
Lots of questions sorry! i’m new to this and I want to make sure i’m doing everything right!

A201

No need to gravel vac while cycling a tank. Benificial bacteria are embedded in the substrate.
I change out 50% of the water each week in my tanks, and rarely gravel vac.

Cody

Since your doing a fish in cycle I would be more worried about removing enough water to keep Ammonia and Nitrite Levels as low as possible

As far as the gravel goes I wouldn’t do a deep vacuum. I would just hover the top to try to suck up any waste or uneaten food. This will also help with keeping ammonia levels down.

ferrariluca07

Since your doing a fish in cycle I would be more worried about removing enough water to keep Ammonia and Nitrite Levels as low as possible

As far as the gravel goes I wouldn’t do a deep vacuum. I would just hover the top to try to suck up any waste or uneaten food. This will also help with keeping ammonia levels down.
so should I be hovering over to catch the waste every time I do my water change?my parameters are pretty good i’ve been cycling for 3 weeks, I checked 2 days ago, I do water changes every week as well. when my tank has cycled what do you recommend on how often I should vacuum the gravel?

Cody

At a minimum I would hover the top surface just to get the poo and excess food that Is on top of the gravel.