Gravel cleaning - Shrimp/Snails

Spinich

Hey gang,

I saw a few threads on this, but didn't exactly answer my question so I thought I would post it up.

With an army of shrimp, snails, baby guppies swarming the ground, how do I vacuum it? Do I even need to vacuum it if the snails are going through it? I used to vacuum my gravel every 120 days or so just to get all that settled fish poop out.

What have y'all done? Suggestions/recommendations?

Flyfisha

Hi Spinich ,

You definitely need to change 45% of the water two or three times a week to get maximum speed with growing fry . I can 100 % say cherry shrimp can handle multiple 45% water changes in one week as can two species of Australian native shrimp. I have no experience with other species of shrimp.

Use a straight length of hose and vacuum into a white bucket. Let the bucket settle for half an hour and then net out juveniles. They can be tossed straight back into the original tank. Just be careful to toss them on the floating plants or you will find the adult fish enjoying the meal you are adding.

I know from personal experience how quickly a guppy tank can turn into fish soup when you have pregnant females. You MUST separate the male and female juveniles before they begin to breed. If you don’t have two or three tanks you will have to cull fry if the adults aren’t keeping the numbers low.

In an ideal world you would have a bare bottom grow out tank and be able to keep the tank a bit cleaner. No it’s not necessary to vacuum the substrate every week but sooner or later you need to remove mulm.

I believe the snails poop out whatever they eat ? Just like any creature they contribute to increasing the bio load.The don’t reduce the bio load by magic.

You ask what y’all have done.
I have set up fresh grow out tanks that have not had a proper clean for two months. Approximately every two months everything is removed and rinsed. A snapshot of cherry shrimp with juvenile BN plecos/ poop machine.