Good or bad idea?

waya81

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
The LFS in my town is closing down suddenly (no idea why, when we went in last week everything seemed fine, then all of a sudden its on craigslist). I asked how much they would sell me one of their complete, running salt water tanks for. He quoted me 375$ for a 55g, and 525 for a 180g, that includes rock and fish. It sounds like an awesome deal to me, but I have no experience at all with salt water. It had actually just started seeming feasible to me to do one, since the new owner of the store seemed so knowledgeable on them.

So is it an ok or bad idea for me to get an already established one for so cheap and research it as I'm going, or is it better to start from scratch.

lanlesnee

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I brought mine up and running with no prior salt water exprierence, just fresh water and I wasn't a master at that. It seems like sw and I were a good match, since I've done so much better with sw than fw. I now have several sw tanks and have never looked back. No regrets what so ever. I know have 5 sw tanks and working on a 6th.

But to answer your question only you will know the answer to that. How comfortable are you with the challenge? You will no doubt be face with some pressure to learn and learn quick.
I had to do tons of water changes when I first set up my tank-are you going to be able to handle this, if this is the case?
There's a lot of factors to consider and only you can decide if you can handle these when they come up.

If I was offered a 180g with fish and rock for 525, I myself would do it and think nothing of it.

waya81

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
As I'm remembering standing in front of it in the store, I really dont remember it being that big, but I will have to see it again. Really the biggest problem right now is where to set it..

LukeTheDuke

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
WOW!