Goldfish Tank Troubles

High201

Reaction score
I have a Calico Goldfish with a 10 gallon tank. The tank is cloudy. I cleaned the Gravel with a siphon hose many times and am doing frequent water changes. Yet the tank is still cloudy. The Nitrite is dangeroulsly high and the ph is acidic 6.2. I am not feeding him too much. Don't know what to do. I did also try to put Stress Zyme Biological Filtration Booster in there too. I am currently using an aqua clear filter and everything seems to be working. I am kind of new at this here, and if i don't correct things here i think the Goldfish will not survive. The goldfish is about 5 inches long. could anyone please help me. i am trying to look through books and articles to help but am not having any success. Thank You in advance

Butterfly

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Hi Welcome to FishLore!
Usually we recommend at least 20 gallons for the first goldfish and 10 gallons for each additional fish.Since it is 5 inches it is really crowded, especially since goldfish are such big waste producers. another problem it sounds like your tank isn't cycled. Please read the articles for beginners in the beginners section it will explain alot for you.
Continue doing the water changes to keep your fish comfortable and to get the nitrites down. While the tank is cycling it is building up beneficial bacteria and there are times it is trying so hard to meet the demands of your tank that you can actually see them in the water, this is called a bacteria bloom. This is why your tank is cloudy. The cloudiness won't hurt your fish but the high Nitrites will. The only way to get the Nitrites down is to do water changes. I do recommend you get a larger tank as soon as possible.
keep us posted and we will help all we can
Carol

High201

Reaction score