Goldfish Tank size? Should I try to find ~75gal tank?

Becca Stephens

Hello everyone!

I have two common goldfish in a 42gal tank. I know this is the bare minimum for this type of fish andseeing as they’ve grown quite large I’m looking at purchasing a new tank. I’ve pretty much moved them from a 10gal -> 20gal -> 42gal and I know I should have really done the research first but now I’m about done buying new tanks once a year haha. I was obviously looking at a 55gal tank because I’m a broke college student but I don’t want to have to buy yet another one after that. I don’t have the space for a 120/130gal tank but should I try to find ~75gal tank? I’ve been looking on Facebook market place as they usually have tanks for good prices. If anyone wants to help me out with sizing and filters for that size tank that would be very helpful! I know everyone has differing opinions on what size tank common goldfish need so please be nice

david1978

A 75 gives you more width then a 55. I much prefer it over my 55's. On my 75 I have a cut glass lid. 2 fluorescent tubes. An aquaclear 110.

flyinGourami

I would go with a 75, not too much bigger and it has more surface area I believe(which is what you want for most fish, including goldfish). Imho common goldfish CAN live in a 42, but I would upgrade because they have more swimming room and the parameters will be slightly easier to keep track of. Most filters will work, you can get a sponge filter or two or an aquaclear. I know some people use canisters but I don't think its really necessary unless you want to of course.

AquaticQueen

Welcome to Fishlore!
I agree with the others. A bigger tank would be easier to maintain and the fish would really appreciate the extra space

FinalFins

75 is the common accepted minimum for common goldfish Obviously try to find the biggest tank you can but if you get a 75 you are fine

WrenFeenix

T
Hello everyone!