Goldfish Id Please

Richie99

Reaction score
Hello folks,

Great forum. So glad to have found it.
My daughter brought home a goldfish a few months ago from a fair. Can someone please help identify what type of goldfish it is? Thank you so much!

Attachments

scarface

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I’m by no means an expert, but just to throw it out there as a possibilty, it could also be a Sarasa or something between the two. The caudal tail, although short, still looks a bit longer than normal for a Common. Also the rounded lobes look very Comet-like, as well. It probably doesn’t completely meet either standards for the breeds. I suppose it is more Common than Comet, however.

2211Nighthawk

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
scarface said:
I’m by no means an expert, but just to throw it out there as a possibilty, it could also be a Sarasa or something between the two. The caudal tail, although short, still looks a bit longer than normal for a Common. Also the rounded lobes look very Comet-like, as well. It probably doesn’t completely meet either standards for the breeds. I suppose it is more Common than Comet, however.
I was wondering if it had some comet in it.

scarface

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
2211Nighthawk said:
I was wondering if it had some comet in it.
I probably shouldn’t have said anything. If it looks close to a Common, let it just be a Common. But yeah, there are a lot of mixing involved. It’s not unusual to see some non-fancy varieties to have a little bubble eye. There are some goldfish that are “unique” enough to not be categorized into any variety.

2211Nighthawk

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
For reference, my boy is a common. See how your goldy’s tail is longer this his, but it is shorter then a “real”comet goldfish.

Either way, they all get big.
105FB544-BEEA-4D79-B8F5-721CE908C795.png

2211Nighthawk

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years