Goldfish Extremely Sensitive To Nitrates

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by DAYNAMITE, Apr 21, 2018.

1. DAYNAMITENew MemberMember

Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum so forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong place.
    I am a beginner when it comes to fish keeping but I have always loved and had goldfish, I currently have two goldfish in a twenty gallon tank that I now know is way to small but it's temporary.
    I test the water parameters all the time with the api test kit and it is always... ammonia 0 nitrite 0 and nitrates in between 10 or twenty.
    I'm always surprised that the water is that way considering its two goldfish in a twenty gallon but anyway...... the problem I'm having lately is that one of the goldfish keeps showing signs of high nitrates, last week he got so bad that he was in that bent c shape for three days, when I noticed that he wasn't right I isolated him to a spare tank and was basically waiting to see what happened.
    After three days of him in a c shape I woke up to find him swimming like normal and he had actually eaten the pea that I put in there just in case.
    I could not believe it, after a few more days I put him back in the main tank, he was fine for a day and then started to act lethargic again, I started to do a water change every second day in the main tank to keep nitrates as low as I could.
    What I have been noticing is that the day after the water change he acts lethargic, loss of appetite, sometimes drifts through the water like is really week and starting to bend so I panic and put him back in the isolation tank where he again makes a full recovery.
    This has happened four times over the last three weeks, it seems that he is extremely sensitive to nitrates or something because I can't think of anything else that could be causing this and its driving me crazy.