Goldfish Cycle

Pamela M.

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
so I started my 29g tank 2 days ago. I started using API Quick start to start cycling. Nothing was happening. I know it takes awhile but with a brand new tank and Penguin 200 filter, I wanted to see thing happen fast. I started 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite, and 0 nitrate. I wanted to do the fishless cycle to be humane. So today I went to the LFS to purchase the API master test kit, Seachem Prime and Stability. Only found the kit and apparently no one sells stability . The fish guy at Petco advised me to get 2 small goldfish to kickstart my cycle and said within 3-4 wks I should be good to get the fish I originally planned on getting. So when I got home from work at midnight (I'm a nurse so that's the norm for me) I checked my levels and I'm currently at 0.25-0.5 ammonia, 0 nitrite, 0 nitrate, 7.5 pH. Also my temp has remained at 82•F even when I turned it off when I got the goldfish (was worried it might be too hot for them).

Any tips? Am I doing alright?? I'm just too excited to get my first fish tank up and running and it gets in the way of me knowing this is a long process lol

Thank you in advance for your help

Dave125g

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Patients . it takes time. Its hard to cycle with gold fish as they are major waste producers, so keep an eye on your ammonia levels and do frequent water changes . what is your PH?

Summer22

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Do you have a plan on what to do with your smaller goldfish (they still get big) after your done cycling or are those the ones you want to keep forever? Goldfish are very hardy and I cycled my first tank with them.