Goldfish Bettas Aquaponic House Plants

rainbowsprinkles
HI all, I’m new here but wanted to join to share ideas and tricks to having happy fishes. I’m a scientist by profession and study ecosystem processes so I am into low tech, high ecology, balanced tanks. I had a goldfish that lived for 21 years in a 20 gallon tank ( got him at age 10) who recognized me and would splash me every time I walked by. Died after leaving him with family fish sitters
B186E89E-7580-4229-B0A6-74FE2874691E.jpeg. I have mostly bettas and goldies in tanks with lots of emergent house plants (roots in water). Working on figuring out best ways to effectively reduce nitrates biologically in fresh water. Fan of old fashioned ugf’s. Inherited a fantail goldfish with a big tumor on head and have been reading up on ways to remove it safely to improve/prolong his life. I also think a lot of common doctrine of fish keeping is overrated ( especially goldfish) and that there are many ways to keep tanks- fish healthy and happy.

Bryangar
Welcome, RainbowSprinkles. Hope to see you more on the forum.

Very cool story, thanks for sharing! You sure that fantail wasn’t an oranda goldfish?

goldface
Welcome and good to have ya. Lovely tank. I’m planning on something similar with sweet potato vines.
Welcome, RainbowSprinkles. Hope to see you more on the forum.

Very cool story, thanks for sharing! You sure that fantail wasn’t an oranda goldfish?
I was thinking the same thing. Wen trimming is not uncommon.

rainbowsprinkles
Nope it’s an orange fantail with a beige soft fleshy tumor near the eye that is growing

rainbowsprinkles