Gold Gourami tortures tetra all the time

katwright

Hi,

I'm a beginner fish keeper and I had a couple of losses due several reasons. I just bought a golden gouramI to my 20 gallon tank and he constantly tortures the tetra. I'm afraid the tetra will die due to stress. Buying another tank is out of the question and I really don't want to return the gold gouramI to the store. Any suggestions?

Shawnie

welcome to fishlore!!!!!!

the two suggestions you don't want to do, are the only ones to fix it unfortunately

gourami's are totally territorial and 20 gallons isn't enough to keep him happy and non agressive...

you are overstocked with the goldy in there so id suggest returning the goldy and gouramI and maybe getting a nice school of tretras..that's hard because you love your fish but its better than death

Devon

Welcome!! ;D

Agree with Shawnie... I hate to be the bearer of bad news but anything along with a goldfish in that tank is potentially overstocking it purely on a bio-load basis. But beyond that, tetras are schooling fish and just one is going to be lonely.

I'm sorry, but my best suggestion is the same... a school of tetras, or just the goldie... but for the good of your fishes, some of them should go. :/

ShaynaB

Welcome to Fishlore! You've come to the right place!

Are there places for the tetra to hide? That might help. Also, tetras are schooling fish and like to be kept in groups of 6 or more. What kind of tetra is it?

But with the goldfish in there, you're really overstocked already. Do you have a heater? Goldfish shouldn't really be kept with tropical fish like gouramis and tetras because goldies don't like the consistent warm temp that gouramis and tetras need.

Also, did you cycle your tank? If not, here's a link about the nitrogen cycle! https://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm

Good luck with your fish!

katwright

Re:

Thanks for the advice!