Going to start two part dosing in my reef tank

Discussion in 'Saltwater Beginners' started by LiterallyHydro, Jul 5, 2015.

1. LiterallyHydro

LiterallyHydroWell Known MemberMember

I just placed an order for Bulk Reef Supply's  .

I've never done dosing in a reef tank before, so I want to keep it simple the first time I'm getting around to trying this. I will have a calcium and alkalinity test kit on hand before I start dosing, and I'm going to follow the instructions from this video on youtube.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bVI69xOb_JM

I just want to make sure I do this right from the beginning. Are these the right steps for just getting started with dosing? Is there anything else I'm going to need to know? I will do further research on dosing when my budget allows, and I want to upgrade the tank further, but for now I just want to get dosing started so I have more stable parameters and hopefully see better growth.

2. Claire Bear

Claire BearWell Known MemberMember

Hi, what type salt are you using? I ask because the salt can make a huge dfference in how stable your tank is and how much extra chemical you will need. I use seachem reef but there are many out there. I am thinking about switching to Tropic Marine Pro sea salts. Based on the reviews I have read, I think it may keep my coral much healthier-at least that is my thought.
    I also have a 29g (seahorse) and a 55g with a second 55g reef tank. Then a 36g bowfront and a 10g shrimp tank. With the number of tanks I have, I don't want to dose them all. Looks like this salt may have a better overall balance.
    As far as two part, I used a vinegar lime mix but stopped as I think my tank didn't need it. I now just do a 20% water change every two weeks and things seem to be going well.

3. OP
    OP
    LiterallyHydro

Thanks for getting back to me on this.