15 Gallon Tank Glofish gasping - I can't figure out why!

Jodbug65

I'm going to apologize for being such a noob here, but I am concerned adopted fish mom.

About two months ago, I adopted a 2 year-old glofish named Piper from my friend. I was super fortunate that I was able to bring most of her water etc. along with her and against insurmountable odds, didn't have to go through the new tank cycling.

Piper has been on her own for over a year. There had been other glofish which came and went, but she was all that was left. Recently, I purchased a new glofish to keep her company (Phoebe) and everything has seemingly gone well up until maybe 4 days ago. Phoebe was introduced to the tank over two weeks ago.

I do 10-15% water changes 1x per week. They have lots of air (filter + bubbler) and my tank doesn't fluctuate more than 1-2 degrees (80-82 degrees). Four days ago, Piper started skimming the surface and gasping, and as I was due for a water change, I figured that was probably why. I recently purchased a manual vacuum thing, so I used it for the first time, but I didn't vacuum all of the stones at the bottom and I only removed 15% of the water.

Piper is still gasping and constantly skimming the surface, however, Phoebe seems fine. I tested my water using API testing kit and noted that the PH was quite high. How high is too high? I use regular tap water that I treat with water conditioner and I always add in some Fluval bacteria with water change, but I'm thinking I need to move to distilled next change over.

I just don't know why she's so stressed out and struggling. I feel like maybe I threw off the tank balance with my vacuuming and I don't know how to fix it. I'm scared to do an additional water change- could it still be water quality? I did use a bit of PH - that I purchased ( .5 ml) because I knew the PH was quite high but didn't want to take more water out and also, didn't want to put too much PH - in so as to not shock the fish.