Glofish babies

potatos
HI,
Last night I noticed on of my glofish was so swollen, it had trouble swimming, and I assumed it would lay eggs soon. sure enough, this morning all my fish were franticly picking at the gravel. I tossed in some extra fish food to hopefully distract them. my glofish is now considerably smaller, and I was curious about rasing the fry. I assume they are similar to breeding regular zebra danio, but I have never done that before. Would all have the eggs been eaten by now? how would I know if another fish bothered to fertilize them? I do not have a second aquarium, but I have some 5 gal buckets. Could I do a water change into one of the buckets with a gravel vacuum, and simply keep the water, or will the lack of a heater/aerator kill the eggs? if I want to give them a chance, should I leave them in the tank with my danios and rams, where there is live plants, including a bit of java moss, and a heater and aerator, or should they go in the bucket? or should I just wait until she is ready to breed again and put her in a small tank with marbles? (how often to they lay eggs?)

any info would be appreciated, I have looked online, but they talk about set ups I don't have.

sirdarksol
My opinion is that their best bet is to leave things be. This isn't to say that they have much of a chance, but it's probably their best one. The Java moss may well protect one or two of them.
As time goes on, your plants will grow, and will provide more and more cover for the fry.

potatos
Ok, but I still have relativly little java moss, and I think I'm due a water change anyways. I was thinking of sucking the water from th gravel into a bucket, and if anything hatches, I would put them in a bowl w/ java moss near a window. would that work better? and should I be able to see the eggs, or are they tiny? otherwise I think they were mostly eated. or will this process of sucking them up destroy the eggs?

Lucy
I'm not a breeder, I just don't have room for a lot of babies.