Gh & Ph Test & Cloudy Tank Help

Discussion in 'Cloudy Aquarium Water' started by Lukeyguy, Apr 16, 2018.

1. L

Lukeyguy New Member Member

Good afternoon,
    I have 2 questions
    Not sure if anyone can suggest anything but I'm new to keeping fish really enjoying it, I have 4 guppy's in the tank "Tetra Fish Tank Starter Line LED 54L" (Wasn't able to post image link without 10 posts.)

But about 2 months of testing the water, I'm still having issues with my pH (7.5) & GH (180) test which on my card have it saying "Caution (Continue to watch) how can I lower this?

&

Also, my tank is cloudy I've tried tetra clear water which someone from my local fish store said to use but it's done nothing it's still the same. (I clear my tank 1/2 a week 10%) & I feed my fish 2 times a day 12hrs day & night (Fish flakes)

Thank you so much for your time & reading.

Luke

2. dinosaur act

dinosaur act Valued Member Member

Hello luke and welcome.

My guppy tank rans at a ph of 8.2 and gh of 230. My guppies have been breed in these parameters tho so i might not be the best person to advise on this part. As long as your water is constant I'd say you should be okay, livebreeders do tend to like a bit of hardness, or so iv been told.

If you did want to lower gh and ph look in to an RO system.

cloudyness could be;

substrate which hasn't been rinsed enough befor use. Adding some filter floss or a fine sponge to your filter should take care of this, providing your filter turn over is up to it. Doing a deep clean of your substrate during your water change should help also.

Could also be a bacteria bloom in which case will subside with in a day or two. This usally occur during cycling or some times when you cycle may stall.

Hope this helps!

J.t.w

@Mary765 hope you don't mind me tagging you, you seem to know your guppies is all.

Last edited: Apr 16, 2018
  3. TexasDomer

TexasDomer Fishlore Legend Member