Gh And Kh Test

kallililly1973
So this is my first time testing the GH and KH of one of my tanks and had a couple questions. According to the directions they say to add a drop and mix it after every drop for KH till you reach a yellow color in your test tube. ( yellow as in comparison to zero Ammonia in the API kit?) Then they want you to add a drop at a time till you reach a green color in the GH test tube inverting the tube after every drop ( in comparison to higher levels of Ammonia in the API kit?) If by chance I did this right my KH was 5 and my GH was 8. Or are you suppose to do the drops all at once till it turns the correct colors then shake the test tubes? Also are you suppose to shake the GH and KH containers prior to any testing it doesn't say to in any of the directions unless I missed something. I'll post a pic from my phone cuz its easier. Thanks for the help and answers to this GH-KH testing newbie
richie.p

Attachments

• 8BAC9FE3-5FBF-4909-B221-551BF672FCA5.jpeg
    8BAC9FE3-5FBF-4909-B221-551BF672FCA5.jpeg
    118 KB · Views: 86
Advertisement
Skavatar
sounds like you did it correct. you shake the test tube after each drop.

I looked at the directions, it doesn't say to shake the bottles first, but I shake them anyways.

kallililly1973
sounds like you did it correct. you shake the test tube after each drop.

I looked at the directions, it doesn't say to shake the bottles first, but I shake them anyways.
Thanks. Does it appear that it is the correct colors judging from my pic or should the Green be much darker? I think I got the Yellow correct. But just watched a vid and seen someone explaining the test and their test tube was like a forest green color...if that's the case then I think my GH may be more along the lines of 11

coralbandit
IMO the final color is not as important as noting when the largest change in color occurs .
My KH is 2-3 so it barely shows any color before going to pale yellow .