Question Getting Tank From Family Friend - Have To Transport

lukario45

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hey Fishlore,

It’s been a while since I have been here. I wasn’t planning on getting another setup until after I graduated, but that changed. One of my moms close friends is moving and they will no longer have room for their 65 gallon aquarium. I convinced my mom to let me keep it, it will be going in my ‘man cave’.

It has been a while since I have had fish, and I never dealt with an aquarium this size before.

In this tank there is:
1 Angel Fish
Two Pelcos (one of which has been in their family for 10+ years)
4 Neon Tetras (I LOVE these)
6 Tetras (black or white, maybe more than 6)
1 Raphael Catfish
1 Zebra Danio (maybe dyed? Not sure)
And Maybe a loach

There is also some aquatic plants in there, but idk what it is yet.

Do I have any more room? I would love to add a fish of my own, but I won’t if it is too crowded already, and since they had this tank established for years I’m not going to take anything out.

That leads into my more important issue.

I need to transport all of the fish and their tank about 2 hours this Friday. All the way from Lancaster PA to the Pocono Mountains. This tank has been established for a LONG time, and I would like to preserve its bio filter and I don’t want to have to start a new ammonia cycle. What should I do to transport these fish, and their tank, without destroying the bio filter?

Thanks!

nikm128

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
You'll want to get one or two 5 gallon buckets to move the fish, usually keeping the buckets warm enough would be an issue but I see you're in Pennsylvania and it should be fairly warm right now, so maybe just drive without the AC on? I would get two, one gallon ziploc bags to move the plants and filter media, as long as you keep them slightly damp you don't need to worry about them dying, or losing the cycle

Heron

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years