Advertising

1. Amazon PRIME Day is today!
    Stock up on aquarium goodies!

No PRIME membership? No problem, sign up for a 30 Day Free Prime Trial to take advantage of the PRIME day sale prices!

Dismiss Notice

Getting Into Live Plants.

1. Kevin J Wint

Kevin J Wint New Member Member

Hello All, i have had artificial plants in my aquariums for years, however i am finding that some of my fish dont particularly enjoy having the plastic plants rub up against them, so i am looking at potentially putting in real plants as the majority of my fish prefer heavily planted aquariums.

so my question is this:

will i need to change my substrate? also; Which plants tend to be the lowest maintenance possible (trimming and whatnot)? Can i put plants into an aquarium that already has fish? other than stress will there be any effect on my fish well being?

2. Gypsy13

Gypsy13 Well Known Member Member

I’m new with plants too. Don’t quite have the whole stem plant vs water column plant down yet. Siri doesn’t help at all there. Your fish will love them. You will love them. You don’t have to change your substrate. There are some that require certain things like high light, co2, etc. I’m trying to stay low light low tech cool water. You should rinse your plants in something then rinse with water before adding. Supposedly. Some say hydrogen peroxide, betadine, bleach water even potassium permanganate! I’ve not touched that nastiness since college. I’ll be watching your thread to see what you decide on.
    I do have wisteria that is doing great. And some corkscrew Vals that are coming back after a melt. I think I might need a fertilizer other than flourish excell. Good luck!

3. Smalltownfishfriend

Smalltownfishfriend Valued Member Member

Hi! What substrate do you have? I recommend Anubis, Java fern Java moss Amazon swords and maybe jungle Val's! It should not affect your fish! They will definitely help with water quality also!!! And your fish will love it!!:)

4. OP
    OP