Getting A Custom Tank In My Condo...beginner Questions - Please Help :)

Jordan Jacob
Hello everyone thanks for having me on your board.

I am getting a custom tank built in my 7th floor condo in Toronto and have very basic questions. Any help is appreciated. The size will be 40" long x 22" wide and 36" tall.

I have no experience with fish or tanks. I want this tank for its artistic visual mainly, and am open minded to becoming an enthusiast eventually. I plan on paying a professional to maintain the tank for now, so please consider this when answering the following questions:

1) If I am not maintaining myself, and paying someone, isn't a salt water tank better? more colorful fish etc..Any downsides?
2) Should I go with glass or acrylic? pros/cons of each?
3) I want the tank as colorful as possible, is buying coral inserts form a company like LivingColor (.com) ok? Better places to buy?
4) How much should I expect to pay for this custom tank including all filters, parts etc? (So I know if I am getting screwed?).
5) Roughly what will be my maintenance cost per week or month for salt vs. fresh?

Anything else you guys recommend or want to warn me about ?

Thanks so much everyone.

Jordan

Discus-Tang
HI Jordan,

I would highly recommend starting with a freshwater tank, even if someone is maintaining it for you. You'd need to feed the corals, fish, do top offs etc. Corals and saltwater fish are also ridiculously expensive, not to mention the extra equipment.

So, if you go down the saltwater path, consider these things.

In freshwater, you can still find pretty colourful fish. You will still need to feed them a wide range of foods, but it will be so much cheaper.

Your tank sounds relatively large, so make sure the floor is able to hold it. I don't think the people below you would want a tank bursting through the roof...

For that size of a tank, expect to pay $30-40 for a heater and $30-40 for a filter.

I would recommend these fish:
Guppies (5 males)