Getting a 55 gal, would this be overstocking?

Gamer

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I am just getting into fishkeeping.

I currently have a 20 gal that I plan to turn into a community tank which is cycling and my parents are giving me their old 55 gal fish tank (they used it for coy's years ago but it's just been sitting in their garage for awhile now). So I plan to cycle it, pick my plants, gravel, decorations, etc and I know I want an Oscar but I'm not sure what to put in with it, if anything is acceptable in a 55 gal.

Could I add one common pleco & one Jack Dempsey? If I could add even more, I'd probably put in one bala shark and that would be it. Either those or a pleco and four Silver dollars. If I can't put much else in with him, I'll probably wait until the day I can get a larger tank and will just add Angelfish to this one.

Also, I am thinking of upgrading the filter and heater they used for it which I don't think were from any of the really good brands. What filter and heater would be good for a tank this size? Thanks...

COBettaCouple

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
The common rule is 1" of fish (adult size) per gallon of water, although some fish need more. Try: https://www.fishlore.com/TropicalFishProfiles.htm for some excellent pages that list adult sizes as well as the tank sizes different fish need.

sgould

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
The 1" per gallon rule starts to fall apart when dealing with really big fish, and both Oscars and common plecos get pretty big. I am thinking a 55 might work for 1 of them individually, but would be too small for both of them together. You may want to wait for more experienced voices to weigh in, though.

Sean

jacksonbm

Reaction score