55 Gallon Tank german blue ram male or female?

rodeoratdogs

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hi everyone, we are just getting into haveing fish and are trying to do everything right so we thought this would be a good way to get information. We have 2 german blue rams one is too young to tell if it is male or female the other one we were told it was male but it kind of has a rosey belly. I don't know how old it is but it's about 1 1/2 inches. Here is a pic can any of you tell?

720.jpg

Lisi

bolivianbaby

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
Welcome to Fishlore! With that dorsal fin, I'm going to guess male. What a beautiful boy he is too!

I'm no expert, though, so hang on for some more responses.

ryanr

Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
722.jpg
723.jpg

Male on the left, female on the right.

- males lack blue "spangling" throughout their black spot (can be completely black in the middle with spangling around). Females will have blue "spangling" through the spot. (least conclusive)
- in non-longfin variants, the dorsal and analfin of females barely reach base of caudal (tail) fin. (most accurate)
- females have a red/pink belly when they are in the mood to spawn.

i'm guessing it's a male

rodeoratdogs

Reaction score
Experience
Just started