Geophagus Stocking And Tank Mates

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by gwtterry, Jul 11, 2019.

1. gwtterryValued MemberMember

May I please get some stocking opinions? This is my first time keeping Geophagus. I have a 110 gallon tank. 60.5" long, 16.5" wide, and 25.5" tall.
    I am considering either Abalios or Red Head Tapajos. I am thinking 6. Does this sound like a good number? I also have access to Winemilleri and Sveni, if those are better options?

As for tank mates:
    *Biotodoma cupido - okay? What number? I read they like groups, but how big of a group and would a group be too much with the Geophagus in my tank? Would something like 3 be better? or skip? Need help here.
    *1 Chocolate Cichlid - been reading this done. ok?
    *1 threadfin acara - read they murder everyone when adults, so figured I could keep one to enjoy, is this ok?
    *What about crenicichla? I seen a video of Geophagus and Crenicichla sp Belly Crawler. Common, but I like them. Would you advise this?
    *I'm not fond of severum, just not doing it for me. Is there anything I am missing that I could be looking at as a choice?

Thank you so much in advance.

2. CoptapiaWell Known MemberMember

6 is a good number. I wouldn’t add other cichlids personally. They’ll be much more relaxed if they have the tank to themselves cichlid-wise, with a few small non-cichlid tankmates. If you must add cichlids I’d stick with smaller ones than the Geos.

3. gwtterryValued MemberMember

Thank you. I read in a species report that large SA cichlids worked well and Cupidos worked as dithers for them, which is why I was considering those.  . I see a lot of angelfish with them. How do you feel about angelfish?

4. CoptapiaWell Known MemberMember

Angels should actually work well. The tank is plenty tall enough for them to have half a tank each, pretty much.