Gah, dying fish

1. death2fishbowls Initiate Member

hi, i just got a new 9 gallon fish tank day before yesterday, i filled it with tap water and 3 goldfish, but they're all dead now but one :mad:  wat should I do???  I even put in plants and a castle toy thing for them and see what they do to me!

BTW, hi i'm 15 and i've recently become interested in fish.

2. newbie101 Well Known Member Member

hi and Welcome to Fishlore! ;D
    First of all, the tap water is most likely what killed them. Read the article on the Nitrogen Cycle: http://fishlore.com/Forum/index.php?topic=620.0
    Gunnie, Butterfly, and the rest will be stopping by any minute and give you more info ;)

3. death2fishbowls Initiate Member

Cool thanx. what kinds of plants should i get?

4. newbie101 Well Known Member Member

I'm not too experienced in the plants field, being pretty new with plants myself.....come on butterfly and gunnie :p they are the real experts (among many others)

5. newbie101 Well Known Member Member

explore the articles on Fishlore, there's a lot of good info on there (including a few articles on plants)

6. death2fishbowls Initiate Member

Thanx again ;D ;D ;Dsorry to bother you again but what is a god brand of filter.. mine sux

7. Isabella Fishlore VIP Member

Hi. Did you dechlorinate the water? Tap water contains either chlorine or both chlorine and chloramine - two substances that kill fish immediately. If you did not dechlorinate your tap water, that is why the fish died.

Another thing now. People new to the hobby often to not know about "cycling" a tank. Here is what it means. You should never buy the fish the same day that you bought your tank. Not even a few days after. In a new tank, there are no beneficial bacteria that remove toxic substances. So even if you put fish in the tank a few days after, they'll still most likely die because the tank was not cycled yet.