Fuzzy Spot On Fin- Getting Worse Despite Treatment?

Hegrey

Reaction score
Last week I noticed a small, protruding white bump on my betta's fin. It's showing through both sides, so I thought it was probably a small injury that had a fungus growing on it- so I started treating with Pimafix on Friday... I know it's only 4 days later, but it actually seems to be getting (slightly) larger. Now I'm worried it's ich- do you think I would have started to see results already, or should I continue the full 7 day cycle before trying ich treatment regimen?

You can see it on the bottom fin- sorry the pictures aren't better, but Nautilus is a chicken, and hard to get a picture of. As far as I can tell, it's the only white spot on his body, but like I said, it's definitely on both sides of the fin.

Attachments

FLDawna

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
I'm no expert, but I'm pretty certain that's not ick. Looking at the pictures I don't see fuzz nor a protrusion. Honestly, it looks like it might be a natural light colored spot (like the tip of his dorsal is lighter).
Ick will look like a n actual grain of salt stuck to the fin.

Hegrey

Reaction score
I'm no expert, but I'm pretty certain that's not ick. Looking at the pictures I don't see fuzz nor a protrusion. Honestly, it looks like it might be a natural light colored spot (like the tip of his dorsal is lighter).
Ick will look like a n actual grain of salt stuck to the fin.
It's hard to get a picture from the side, but it's 100% protruding- and getting larger. It's in the middle of his fin, not the end.

FLDawna

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year