Future Adf Tank Stocking Help Question

1. Dhrogara

Dhrogara New Member Member

I'm trying to come up with a few future stocking ideas for when I get myself in a more permanent living situation. Initially one of my plans was to get a 15-20 gallon with African Dwarf Frogs, Corydoras, and Guppies. But I am concerned the guppies will out compete the frogs for food (I am a beginner aquarist, so the less trouble I get myself into the better), so I am thinking of putting them in separate tanks. That being said, I love multispecies tanks, but I also love the ideas of adfs, so are there any tankmates that are better suited for them?

More general questions:
    Could I keep ADFs with Nerite snails? Or would they eat them?
    Would Corys compete with ADFs for food?
    Are there any small, hardy species (3 inches or under) that have diff food requirements that would work well with ADFs?

I'm not setting up this tank anytime soon, but I want to have a good idea of what species I might get so I can do extensive research on their care and compatibility before I get them.

2. luckdown

luckdown Well Known Member Member

I don't really know much about this topic however! I do have adf of my own who happen to have been with a fair few different species of fish including currently guppies because I'm bad and quarentine small groups of fish with them.

If anything my frogs have always out ate my fish. But I spot feed my frogs and feed the fish on the other side. Once the food sinks the fish usually don't bother but that could be because my frogs food is too big for them.

But everyone really suggests that you do a species only tank for adf. Mine personally don't care but I do think it would be very easy for a fish to steal all the food if they want to because of how slow the frogs eat.

But if your frogs tell you when they're hungry and you feed them when they ask for food it's a lot easier to deal with.