10 Gallon Tank Fungus Problem

CTB

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
HI I am new to Fishlore and fairly new to aquariums in general. I recently set up a planted tank, about 2 weeks ago. It was rough at first, I lost 7 fish within the first 5 days. After learning that the pet store had no clue what they were talking about I felt like an idiot. They sold me plants that were not what they said, and fish that aparently are not good for beginners. They also sold me the wrong substrate for the plants. So I started over. I removed what fish were left as well as plants, cleaned the tank, added the correct substrate, added water, replanted the tank, treated the water and put the fish back in. Everything seemed to be going great until today. Yesterday I noticed that I didn't see the remaining kuhlI loach very often. He came out to feed today and I noticed a white fuzzy patch on his right side toward the rear and it seemed that he was having a little trouble swimming. With a little bit of research I found that it is a fungal infection and I also found a treatment. Here is where my real problem lies, I also have an ADF in the tank. On the Q&A section on the website where I found the treatment, it was mentioned not to use this product with an ADF because they would absorb it through their skin. I have a large container that I could quarantine the ADF until the loach and the rest of the tank are treated but I don't have an extra filter or heater to keep water temp and quality preferable. Buying a new heater and filter are not currently an option and I don't know what to do. Are there any treatments for a fungal infection on a fish that are safe for plants and frogs?

Demeter

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years