From 5 Gallons To 55, In Need Of Advice And Tank Mate Ideas!

1. thefishboi

thefishboi New Member Member

So today I am buying a 55 gallon tank. This is a big expansion from 5 to 55 gallons. I'm still a beginner, which is why I'm asking for advice. Currently. I have 2 female silver mollies and 1 tiger barb. I'm giving away the tiger barb. As for the mollies, one is pregnant, so I probably won't be buying any more mollies since I'll have babies and all. So far, I was thinking getting guppies since live bearers do nice with each other. Would all male guppies bully each other? Or should I have mostly female guppies and a couple males? Not only that, but what are some good algae eating fish? I've heard plecos are good, but they get huge, and I'm not sure if 55 gallons is large enough for one. I was also thinking maybe an angelfish, but only if I don't get a pleco because I don't wanna overcrowd the tank. I've heard of angelfish getting along with guppies and mollies if you have space. I don't think angelfish like salt, but I literally only put like a couple pieces of aquarium salt in the tank. Are mollies okay with no salt? Is there any advice I could use since I'm expanding to a large tank? I'm currently saving up for an automatic siphon

2. BottomDweller

BottomDweller Fishlore VIP Member

Do you mind the fish breeding?

3 or more females for every male guppy would be best but they will breed.

You don't need any algae eating fish but nerite snails are some of the best algae eaters.

Different types of plecos get to different sizes. Common plecos get to 2 feet long and don't eat much algae but bristlenose plecos stay small (around 6") and are good algae eaters though you still need to feed them.

Angels prefer warmer water to the mollies and guppies.

Mollies don't need salt.

3. Biev

Biev Valued Member Member