5 Gallon Tank Freshwater fish & plants for cold water?

hydrogen

Reaction score
Before any super experienced aquarium "pro" comes in and has a rant directed at inexperienced people like me ;) I would like to say I am new to this all :)

I was looking to get a tropical fish however terms have changed and I'm looking for a freshwater species I can keep in a 5 gallon tank? I've seen a lot of people keep dwarf crayfish in them so could I?

If not what other freshwater fish could I keep in a 5 gallon or less :) Also could you keep any in bowl tanks, I'm not a fan of them but if some fish can live in them and be okay I'm okay!

Morpheus1967

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I wouldn't go any smaller than 5 gallons. Water chemistry can go bad really quickly when you are only dealing with 5 gallons.

Do bettas interest you at at? You could do a nice setup in a 5 gallon tank for a single male betta.

Also, read this. It helps explain the nitrogen cycle., which you will need to know. And welcome to fish keeping!

Nitrogen Cycle

saltwater60

Well Known
Reaction score
You’ll need a heater if you want tropical fish. There’s a few that can be kept in temperate room temp water but not too many.
Id say that starting the hobby in a 5 gallon tank is a recipe for failure. Not bashing you or trying to insult you so please don’t take it that way.
say you make a mistake and you will. I do and I’ve been keeping fish for 27 years. It happens. Say you make that mistake in a 75 gallon tank you have 75 gallons of water to dilute that mistake. Now that same mistake happens in a 5 gallon tank it’s much more serious and deadly.