55 Gallon Tank Fresh Water Mollies, started aquarium hobbyist July 2020!!! Pandemic Newbie

Rarebreed84

Hi so I’m still new to aquarium keeping, started July 2020. I’ve learned a lot by extensive research to learn what I was dealing with. Anyways I have had a few Molly births in the past, though eventually all babies have died. Right now I have 5 surviving fry from 3 different mama’s. I just brought home this Molly 2 months ago. I saw her and I had to take her home. Biggest Molly I have seen, no other molly for sale has been that HUGE!! I assumed she was ready to pop, like she was pregnant . But 2 months later nothing n still HUGE! Help, is she just fat or pregnant? Or sick , though she looks perfectly healthy. I observe the fishes everyday to see their behavior n that all checks out as well is as roll call. So I know she is strong healthy fish, I don’t think she is ill.

Betta'sAnonymous

Welcome! Sure that isn't a balloon molly? Kind of looks like one to me, but i am not 100% either.

Corylover123

You should put reef salt in your tank and make it saltwater, mollies usually live in brackish water

GuppyGal7

Betta'sAnonymous said:
Welcome! Sure that isn't a balloon molly? Kind of looks like one to me, but i am not 100% either.
It could be a hybrid perhaps?

Corylover123

Yeah it looks short body cross

GuppyGal7

Corylover123 said:
You should put reef salt in your tank and make it saltwater, mollies usually live in brackish water
They're bred in brackish water sometimes because it's cheaper. Doesn't mean they do better in it.

Corylover123

They live in salt marshes in the wild, I have seen them in the wild before and they do very well in saltwater

GuppyGal7

Corylover123 said:
They live in salt marshes in the wild, I have seen them in the wild before and they do very well in saltwater
But they're still primarily freshwater fish. They don't do particularly better in saltwater. OP has a freshwater tank and freshwater fish. They shouldn't have to change that.