Frame/structural support help

KieranKD
Hello! Basically, I've never built a single thing in my life before outside of a singular bird house. I'm wanting to get into building my own stuff, mostly because I know I can make things that look exactly the way I want at a fraction of the cost of similar manufactured products. I've drawn up my very basic idea of what I want, I have no concrete measurements except the stand is going to be 6' long and 2' wide with probably *at least* a 16" air gap between the tank and the next shelf.

It needs to be able to support at least 700-800 lbs just to be safe. The bottom rack will have the most weight, while the top enclosure will likely weigh less than 100 lbs. Basically I want to know if you think that these "plans" would be structurally sound enough to support that amount of weight? The frame itself will either be made out of 2x4 or 2x6 lumber, with a plywood board nailed on top.

snake plans above.jpg

This is the frame for the shelves that the tank/enclosure would be sitting on. The lumber would be covered on top by a plywood board.

snake plans side.jpg

This is the overall "plan", again the shelves that the enclosures sit on will be the frame above. The sides would just be lumber supporting the shelf above it by all 4 corners.

Sanderguy777
KieranKD said:
Hello! Basically, I've never built a single thing in my life before outside of a singular bird house. I'm wanting to get into building my own stuff, mostly because I know I can make things that look exactly the way I want at a fraction of the cost of similar manufactured products. I've drawn up my very basic idea of what I want, I have no concrete measurements except the stand is going to be 6' long and 2' wide with probably *at least* a 16" air gap between the tank and the next shelf.