Four Oscars 20 Gallon Tank

1. kuopan Member Member

Hi everyone,

I am a total newb so I have a few questions that I am hoping you experts can help me with. I just got a 20gallon tank and bought four oscars (two Tiger and two Albino oscars). I totally understand that the 20 gallon tank is wayy too small to grow even only one oscar but I was wondering what the ramifications are to growing them in such a confined space.

Will it stun their growth potential or will they continue to grow and potentially break my tank!? Ideally, I don't want them too large anyways...

Another question, I have is re: designing the tank. Any suggestions with Oscars? Is it a good idea to put more objects or just limit the amount of objects?

Thanks everyone!! Cheers!

2. Gouramiguy17 Well Known Member Member

imo you should have a bare bottom tank, it will make it easier to do water changes

3. Amanda Fishlore VIP Member

It will stunt their growth which is very painful for them & shortens their lifespan considerably.
    There is no way to keep up with water changes for 4 OScars in a 20. I have 2 Oscars in a 150 & it's touchy.
    Please, please consider taking these fish back to where you got them from. They need so much more than a 20 gal. tank, and they are such wonderful fish to be killed in a small tank.

4. Shawnie Fishlore Legend Member

welcome to fishlore!!!!
    dont blame yourself totally...if the fish store that sold them to you didnt ask the proper tank size, they should have allot of that blame....