Found A Deal At A Garage Sale!!

Discussion in 'Freshwater Aquarium Builds' started by Goldfishfreak, May 17, 2018.

1. Goldfishfreak

GoldfishfreakValued MemberMember

I found a 20g tank with stand gravel heater filter and decor for $50!

The only thing is the filter is old and the gravel may affect ph so I think I'm going to replace those things but I will see.

It also came with a VHS on how to set up your aquarium! I was laughing so hard when I saw that. I think I might just watch it to see what its like!

Here are some pictures.
    I plan on posting more when it is all set up.

Not sure what to put in it. Thinking maybe I'll be adventurous with some shrimp. Or my lfs sells blue lobsters and Ive always thought those were cool looking. I will give it some more thought.

If you a have any suggestions of what colour of gravel to buy please share!
    I'm not very good at matching colours.

Attached Files:

2. danhutchins

danhutchinsValued MemberMember

Personally I like black substrates. Are you planning to plant the tank or just have fish? I find that black substrate and a black background make fish color and green plants pop.

3. Mazeus

MazeusWell Known MemberMember

Woop, Woop! Good find. I love a deal.

4. OP
    OP
    Goldfishfreak

It came with some really nice fake plants but I would like to add a a few love ones..

Thanks for the suggestion! I was thinking about black but I have never done all black gravel so I didn't know how it would look. It sounds like it would look good.

5. Fishgirl71

Fishgirl71Valued MemberMember

I just bought used black Flourite gravel from a guy with a 90 gallon tank to set up a couple of planted tanks in my basement. I'll post pics when I get this project completed.

6. TexasDomer

TexasDomerFishlore LegendMember

What makes you think that gravel will change the pH? I don't think it will (but go with sand, because it's much better...)

7. BlackOspreyValued MemberMember

Oooh, nice find!