For those who have had old dogs.

1. psalm18.2 Fishlore Legend Member

What kind of signs did they show as they aged? Odd behaviors? Personality changes?

2. ppate1977 Well Known Member Member

I'm a vet tech currently in vet school. I can't legally diagnose your dog but there are many signs. What type of odd behavior? (Getting confused and lacking focus can be signs of dementia). Obviously there will be physical signs. Your question is a little too broad to accurately answer. I'd be glad to give you opinions, but the best thing to do if you suspect an issue is to get a wellness checkup. I wish you the best.

3. celizabethh3 Member Member

My childhood dog would pace a lot - it seemed like he could not sit still no matter what. Also, when he got a hair cut (he was a Springer) it took a long time for his fur to grow back. I don't know if that was related to age or not but we have another Springer now and his fur grows back quite quickly. He was 13 and eventually his organs shut down and we had to put him to sleep. :(

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

4. k9z3boys Member Member

the two I had to old age became incontinent. one was blind and possibly partly deaf. she slept a lot more than normal, she wasn't really herself. I thought we were going to have to put her down just about a year ago.... its a horrible decision ( she died on her own..... I don't know that I could do it)

5. temptresstoo Initiate Member

How old is this dog???

I currently have a 14 YO brown/tan ACS and a 10 YO yellow lab mix. The age (and breed) of the ACS, she's quite moley. I've had a few removed as they were "changing." Two were malignant, but low grade and they got clean margins. The biggest changes with her is some white in the muzzle, she sleeps more, eats less, and has hearing loss. Otherwise, she's healthy and happy...loves a good romp in the yard, especially after getting a shave down. It's hard in the south with coated breeds.