Fluval Or Tropica Disposable Co2

SLeroux

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Interested in getting a CO2 set up for my 10 gallon. I am not looking to spend a fortune (and am in Canada) so interested in the fluval ($99) or tropica ($129) set ups with disposable canisters. Just until I see how CO2 goes and can then upgrade to a more permanent solution.

My question is without a solenoid timer, and my lights set to two four hours blocks a day with a 7 hour block in between (8:30 to 11:30 and then 5:00 to 9:00) would I run it from when I leave in the morning till a little while after the light shut off?

Or is CO2 with no timer not an option because it would run too long with no lights on? Would not be looking for crazy high output as I have only low tech plants. Just something to help boost growth and stabilize algae.

Ronniethewitch

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
I have no knowledge of the fluval but I use the tropica with no timer and just ensure the diffuser is empty by nightfall...you quickly learn how much is enough. It also comes with an extra attachment to stop a canister dump. Not quite sure how exactly, but that's the point of the solenoid thingy. This, I should tell you, is not a popular choice amongst those with a lot of co2 knowledge.

aniroc

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I would go with Fluvan 88g as you will quickly realize that disposable canisters are very expensive ($15 each and last about 2-3 weeks). You will then upgrade to a paintball canister ($ 60 something at Canadian Tire for a 24 oz=680 grams) that costs $15 to refill but lasts 2-3 months. You will need an adapter ($15 on Amazon) to connect the paintball canister to the Fluval regulator. You can keep the diffuser that comes with Fluval 88g kit. There are other options of course, this is what I have on my 75 gallon. No solenoid, injecting 24/7.