Fluval Flex Help

Iluvfishies

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
hello, so I made a decision to go with the fluval 15 gallon fish tank here soon I’ll will be ordering it. But here’s the catch, I want to try my first planted tank with this aquarium. I’ve never done it before, only my 55 gallon Oscar tank. (Which I still have) can anyone help me with these things:
1:what would i need for substrate
2:good starter plants
3:tips and advice

I’ve read a lot of good reviews on the tank, I just want to know how I should go about this and supplies I will need. Thankyou in advance! God bless!

FriarThomasIII

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Iluvfishies said:
Anyone? Haha
Stratum or Flourite are wonderful substrates for planted tanks, and adding some kind of fertilizers or tabs every 5 months or so helps. Good lighting (we added LED's to ours to make it brighter) helps alot too. Co2 is incredibly handy in growing carpeting plants and gets them to grow faster. Easy plants would be maybe green wenthi, java moss, java fern, just about any anubis plant, nana for the 15 would be best, pogostemon, dwarf sagitaria, rotala, macala, ludwegia, etc are really easy and pretty plants to grow. Do you want stocking tips or anything? I hope this helps!

Iluvfishies

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
FriarThomasIII said:
Stratum or Flourite are wonderful substrates for planted tanks, and adding some kind of fertilizers or tabs every 5 months or so helps. Good lighting (we added LED's to ours to make it brighter) helps alot too. Co2 is incredibly handy in growing carpeting plants and gets them to grow faster. Easy plants would be maybe green wenthi, java moss, java fern, just about any anubis plant, nana for the 15 would be best, pogostemon, dwarf sagitaria, rotala, macala, ludwegia, etc are really easy and pretty plants to grow. Do you want stocking tips or anything? I hope this helps!