Fluval flex 34L marine tank setup/help

WRWAquarium

Hi guys/gals

Ive been keeping freshwater for quite a few years now but an opportunity arose for me to pick up this little tank with kit for a saltwater setup. So far I have it sat waiting for eco sand and salt to arrive before I do anything.

. Tank is the 34l flex.
. Standard pump and filter compartments.
. Media I have now is ceramic rings, carbon, floss and coarse foam.
. Bubble magus 2 HOB skimmer. I have customised the lid for this to fit.
. 25w fluval heater suitable for marine or the option for a 100w juwel ipx8 heater. Not sure what would be best? I assume the juwel is marine safe?
. Light is the standard LED that came with the tank I was told by a reef tank keeper these would work for easy corals but after some research I now am thinking maybe not.
. A refractometer lens viewing thing. How important is calibration fluid test?

I will be getting some live rock and a few frags for free to go straight in and also a mandarin fish. I'm not rushing to get the corals or fish in there untill im ready.

I'm hoping some people here may be able to help me with the magus skimmer set up as instructions are confusing me already. So will come to that on setup.

Any help and advice would be amazing :)

ryanr

Hi,
The flex is more of a FW setup.

I would consider removing all the media, and replacing with pieces of live rock. The traditional media will only trap particles resulting in higher nitrate levels, requiring more frequent water changes.

I don't have any experience with Bubble Magus, other than to say, they are highly regarded skimmers. You might need to youtube search for help with that one.

A 25-50W heater should be adequate. 100W is probably overkill.

Lights, from what I can tell would be suitable for low light corals, but anything higher will probably need higher intensity lights.

Calibration fluid is a great help, but generally, you can calibrate against RODI water to get the zero measurement.