Fluval Flex 15 and Plants?

MisterSnuffles

Hey everyone. So im thinking of getting a fluval flex 15 with a stocking of a betta and down the line some amanos, a nerite, and maybe some pygmy corys. This time around, I would love to do a planted tank. Now I have never done plants before besides duckweed and Christmas moss. Both of which went well. However, I am a bit concerned about the light. From what I have heard, its not that bad with low to medium light plants. I was thinking of having simple beginner plants and maybe salvinia. But I want to know if you guys have experiences or suggestions. I have a finnex light I used on my old ten gallon. Its still working. But idk how to mod the tank since it had a lid. Idk if id even need to. I dont want crazy plants woth high light and maintenance.

Any plant, substrate, fert, or light suggestions?

MacZ

Whatever some scapers, store clerks or the adverts want to tell you:
Plants just need any light, and the standard lights in tank kits are usually enough for some easy low- to mid-light plants, so don't worry about that. Just don't get any plants that need high tech equipment.

There are a lot fool proof and easy plants that need nothing but water and any light:
Anubias and Microsorum are examples for plants you just bind, glue or wedge on wood or rocks. Furthermore easy, because they can be left floating: Elodea, Egeria, Hydrocotyle (only leucocephala) and Ceratophyllum. You can top that off with a small species of Nymphea. Done.

Substrate: Sand (grain size 0.5-1.0mm, 3-4cm layer) is enough.

Fertilizers: Depends completely on your water. Look up your levels for iron, nitrates, phosphate and potassium in your water provider's water analysis. You should be able to find that on their website. Unless there is any deficiancy you won't need any fertilizers.

Very important: For what you are planning you don't need CO2. There is always some dissolved in the water and that usually is enough.