90 Gallon Tank Flows and Placement

Curt
hello, I'm a newbie with a 90G tank waiting to be set up on my first floor with a sump in my basement below. I'm trying to learn by reading various things on the web. It seems the more I read the more questions I have.I'll ask a few here in hopes of getting some complete answers that have reasons why. I want to use LR along with a refuge for a FOWLR. I'm trying to figure what capacity pump I'll need for this system. I understand head. What I can't seem to find is: 1) can LR go in the same compartment as the macroalgae(sp). If not what flow rate is recommended for the LR. I seem to read agreement on the fuge flow at about 10X the fuge compartment capacity. Is the fuge for the algae better to be deep or shallow and why. I'll probably use that most common algae "ball". Should water entering the fuge area be baffled so the water flows from the top down through the area or from the bottom up or doesn't it matter. Entering the top & existing the top be OK? I've read the arguments on skimmer placement. Not having any experience I can't comment, but will ask you all..... What if I take some of the water from my display tank to the skimmer & the the rest directly to my sump. The water coming from the skimmer would also go to the sump in the same location. Would I not have a "diluted" mixture of water now to flow across the fuge area. Would this not put me in the "middle" of this skimmer placement argument? Thanks for your help, Curt

nate21887