Flowerhorn Feeding Question

Rivieraneo
I have little experience with Flowerhorns, but have certainly learned a lot since I inherited ours with an advanced case of hex. Now that our adult King Kamfa is close to fully recovering, I am putting him on a diet primarily of New Life
Spectra 7mm pellets. My question is how often, how many, and how many times a day should he be fed for optimal health. He is a full grown adult and is approximately 8 - 10 inches long. Experienced help and input is appreciated.

Claire Bear
HI Rivieraneo, I too have a Flowerhorn, King Kamfa Viper. I bought mine along with his tank-a 90 gallon. Anyway, I believe from everything I have read and from what the previous owner told me-keeping him fed will keep his kok filled and large. It will also keep him healthy. I am feeding mine marineland (until it is empty) and gradually switching to Grand Sumo Red.
A second thing the previous owner clued me in on was to light his tank with a red light-I purchased one on ebay and there are bulbs for existing fixtures.
Mine has a ton of personality and I will tell you that on the trip home-he got totally stressed but is doing great now!
Phred and Jack in 90 gallon.jpg
One last comment, I feed mine a few, 7-8, they float and if he doesn't finish them in several minutes, I fish them out. I also give him blood worms for treats on occasion.

Rivieraneo
HI Rivieraneo, I too have a Flowerhorn, King Kamfa Viper. I bought mine along with his tank-a 90 gallon. Anyway, I believe from everything I have read and from what the previous owner told me-keeping him fed will keep his kok filled and large. It will also keep him healthy. I am feeding mine marineland (until it is empty) and gradually switching to Grand Sumo Red.
A second thing the previous owner clued me in on was to light his tank with a red light-I purchased one on ebay and there are bulbs for existing fixtures.