Help Fishy Business - Advice For Cycling Process Appreciated

Sir Aaron

Reaction score
Hello everyone.

I’m a beginner to keeping fish and have been following the (often conflicting) advice I’ve found online as to how to do everything properly. I’m so lost though, and any advice would be greatly appreciated, especially from people with experience cycling aquariums.

Aquarium.jpg

I have a 225-litre tank (about 60-gallon) running an AquaOne Nautilus 1100 filter. I have been attempting a fishless cycle in a planted freshwater tank using Dr Tim’s Ammonium Chloride Solution. I treat all water that is added in a separate container with SeaChem Prime for chlorine, chloramine and hard metals.

There are four water wisteria, three banana plants/lilies and three amazon swords, all held down with fishing line attached to river stones buried in the substrate, which is Pisces Gold Pearl Aquarium Gravel. And as per the pictures, there’s sunken ship and treasure chest ornaments.

The plants, presumably, brought along some snail eggs as well, which have since hatched (Ramshorn I think?), then laid eggs on the glass which babies are now hatching from. So there’s quite the snail population ranging in size from a salt-grain to half a Tic-Tac (so they are quite hard to see).

As of this posting is has been 44 days (6 weeks +) since I set it all up and first added Ammonia (Wednesday September 5th to be exact). I have also added an air pump/air stone as of several weeks ago, which is on during the daytime, as are the lights in the hood. It isn’t in direct sunlight, facing a southward window meaning it’s in somewhat shade without the lights on during the day.