Fishless Cycling Help

1. AquariumNoob1988

AquariumNoob1988 Valued Member Member

Hello everyone i am new to the hobby and i could use a little help on getting started, I purchased a 29 gallon tank aqueon bundle and replaced the filter with something a little stronger then the filter that came with it, so far i have a Aqua Clear 50 filter with biomax, chemi pure & Carbon and of course the sponge and i would like to do a fishless cycle using Dr Tims one and only nitrifying bacteria + Dr Tims Amonia with the help of the API Master Test Kit and i can't figure out how to get started do i add the bacteria first if so the whole bottle? then add the amonia? any help would greatly be appreciated

2. jhigg008

jhigg008 Well Known Member Member

Congrats and welcome to Fishlore! Great call on the Aqua Clear! Highly recommended HOB. Unfortunately I have no experience with Dr. Tims but I have heard good things. Hopefully someone will come along and help. Do you already have the master test kit? If so, you could take a few baseline readings of your tap water to get a starting point for future reference. It is important to know for when you do water changes further down the line in your cycling. Also you want to make sure your pH is higher than 6.0.

3. Airth

Airth Valued Member Member

4. OP
    OP
    AquariumNoob1988

thank you so much for the fast replies it all feels so over whelming but with time and patience ik i will have a healthy thriving community tank and as for the test kit yes i do have the master test kit ill get to testing my tap water asap for the PH and the supplies i bought for the future Are stress coat + and proper ph 7.0 and aqaurium salt and a 100w heater anything else i may need or am i good to go with getting it started?

5. jhigg008

Some of the things that I have been happy to have on had:
    1. An airpump with airstone and airline - comes in handy especially when you need the temp but certainly not necessary
    2. Seachem Stability