Fishless Cycling, Ammonia Hasn't Dropped At All In A Month?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle' started by jobleak, Aug 4, 2017.

1. j

jobleak New Member Member

Hello,

I am relatively new to the fish keeping world. I first had my aquarium (10 gallon) set up about a year ago, and due to poor advice from a LFS, I did not cycle my tank and had nothing but problems. Log story short, I am starting fresh (still with the same 10 gallon tank, thoroughly cleaned with water and with all new substrate) and I am trying to do it right this time with a fishless cycle.

Now after searching everywhere for pure ammonia and finding nothing, I went online and I bought some   Ammonia Chloride. I put in the recommended dosage and tested my water conditions (API test kit). The ammonia was about a 4ppm, 0 nitrites, 0 nitrates, about a 7.8ph, water temp 78-80. I waited checking daily for the ammonia to go down and nothing happened. A week and a half goes by, still no change whatsoever. So I did some research online and read that too much ammonia could be toxic, so I did a water change and got it down to about 2ppm. I waited, and another 2 weeks went by, still nothing. No change in ammonia, 0 nitrites, and 0 nitrates.

I am not sure what I am doing wrong. I have used prime with water changes, I have the filter going all the time, I try to keep the air stone on high to make sure there is enough oxygen, I have tried to make sure the ph doesn't get too low (I heard that can kill bacteria), I even tried some tetra safe start to see if the ammonia would go down, and still nothing! It has been about a month since I first put Dr Tim's ammonia into the tank, and the only time the ammonia went down is when I did a water change. I haven't had to put any more in because it hasn't dropped. I don't know what else to try, and I feel like I am not making any progress. It seems like something must be wrong, but I can not figure out what. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

2. el337