Fishless Cycle Questions!!!

Stefanie1234

Reaction score
It is my first time doing a fishless cycle for my freshwater 40 gallon breeder aquarium. I am obsessed with this new hobby of mine. It is DAY 4 and I already have my ammonia down from 4ppm to about 2ppm, and I actually have a NITRATE reading of 10ppm!!! I am pumped. I dosed carefully dr tim’s Ammonia and added a combo of TSS, dr Tim’s One and Only and fritz zyme as bacteria (I know I’m crazy).

So my questions are a few things.
My pH is 8.0!! Why is it so high? (I do have drift wood to lower it) but is the nitrate or something making it so high?

Also going about water changes, should I change the water during my fishless cycle when my nitrates exceed a certain number?
What is the best way to do a water change? Let it sit out for 24 hours OR right away get water from tap and dechlorinate and wait 15 mins both or what? I never really knew! Should I just have buckets lined up for emergencies?

Thank you so much to anyone who answers any of these questions!!

Attachments

Momgoose56

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
It is my first time doing a fishless cycle for my freshwater 40 gallon breeder aquarium. I am obsessed with this new hobby of mine. It is DAY 4 and I already have my ammonia down from 4ppm to about 2ppm, and I actually have a NITRATE reading of 10ppm!!! I am pumped. I dosed carefully dr tim’s Ammonia and added a combo of TSS, dr Tim’s One and Only and fritz zyme as bacteria (I know I’m crazy).

So my questions are a few things.
My pH is 8.0!! Why is it so high? (I do have drift wood to lower it) but is the nitrate or something making it so high?

Also going about water changes, should I change the water during my fishless cycle when my nitrates exceed a certain number?