Fish setup for 50 gallon south american tank

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by DrSahl, Jul 26, 2015.

1. DrSahl

DrSahl Valued Member Member

Hi there

I've made a thread some time ago about some suggestions for my new tank. Here in my new thread, I would like to hear people's opinion about the different fish setup I have been thinking about and all advice and suggestions is welcome..
    Most of the stuff I have (roots, plants, etc) is based on Orinoco, but alot of it would fit perfectly into nearby biotops (it would be 100% but looking towards it)

I might add that I am new to South American's and even tanks with plants.

I've been planning this so far

Setup 1 - Orinoco biotop.

Cleithracara maronii 1 or 2 pairs
    mesonauta festivus - 1 or 2 pairs
    "Corydoras" not sure what yet - 2-4
    Rummynose Tetra - 10

Setup 2

I've been thinking about the   I really like it alot, the problem is, I really want to be sure the tank is large enough, in local pet stores and half the sites online, they say its fine with a pair in lower than 50 gallon, but well it gets large, so is 50 gallons not to small for a pair of these? would love any advice here, I've only had malawi's and fish that size would never be ok. (I had a bigger tank back then)

So would love any suggestions about "biotopish" tank mates that could go with them in a 50 gallon, or simple an answer that its a no go (as I lean towards myself)

Setup 3

Cleithracara maronii - 2 pairs
    Rummynose Tetra - 10
    (a fish that goes in the top like a hatchetfish)

Setup 4

Laetacara fulvipinnis - 4
    Cleithracara maronii - 2 pairs
    Rummynose Tetra - 10

---------